System struck by Lightning

Hi all, I have been having issues with my solar system as per the topic discussion here: System struck by Lightning - Solar Power - Power Forum - Renewable Energy Discussion. (Copied to not have to rewrite everything). I need advice please, since the system is giving me hassles, and the insurance replaced basically everything except the battery itself. I don’t know if the battery is also faulty, but it refuses to discharge less than 29.5%.

Hoping someone can assist with advice on this. Thanks.

Hi Hennie

I’m by no means an expert, but I’d recommend putting a summary of your issue in your post and hope that Izak or Jaco comes across this thread. :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

To me it sounds like your battery’s voltage is getting too low and the BMS then disconnecting it. If this was my system, I’ll do the following checks:

1. What is my battery voltage when it gives the error.
  2. What is my battery voltage when it charged to full.
  3. How much energy do I discharge from the battery before I get the error after it was full.

I don’t know the working voltages of your battery pack, but you should be able to gather this from documentation. From this you’d be able to assess if (1) and (2) are correct. (3) would tell you if the battery’s SoH has deteriorated.

Not getting the SoC down to 0% as you mention you have done before the incident isn’t necessarily an indication that the battery is dead. SoC is just an estimate produced by counting current drawn from the battery. Though, it should be fairly accurate at the lower and upper range of your battery’s voltage curve (I understand that 100% and 0% should probably be defined as per battery voltage, and any accounting up to that point should be recalibrated). So everything is obviously not fine, but I wouldn’t immediately suspect the battery to be damaged.