My Inverter's Capabilities...confused?

Good day all.

I’m pretty new to all this and trying to get a realistic handle on things.

So I’ve been trying out some things and must say I’m now a little confused…

But first…my installation
4x 385W panels
MPPT 150|35
Multi 1200VA
Pylon US2000C
Cerbo

2 Days ago I was running my usual small load - fridge, desktop, wifi, router…still grid-tied, ESS and all that. As per screenshot attached below I then boiled a kettle off the fridge-adaptor to see what’s the what-what. This took about 3-4mins. My inverter (system in general) managed, no worries. As you can see the AC load was about 2300W for that short stretch. So that’s almost double the 1200VA.

Today I dropped the breaker on my DB that feeds AC into my installation to try an “Off-Grid” scenario. So far so good. But when we experimented, at 12h30 with a hairdryer (AC out on VRM showed 1222W) the whole system crashed, alarms, dead for 20-30secs.
Now we’ve used this hairdryer on this system already, albeit still when grid-tied, no problems…

I don’t understand these differences. The one day the inverter manages double. another day a bit over the 1200 margin and sniff sniff. What’s going on here? And how can a 1200VA manage 2300W for 3minutes?

Also, my system just cut out now again (12h48) for some odd reason, but for a second, as the fridge clicked on (116W), and then restored. No alarms. Have I hurt it somehow?

regards, c.

When you are connected to the grid, the difference comes from the grid. This is a common point of confusion for people, because they think of the output of the Multi is somehow “separate”. When the Multi is grid-connected (with ESS installed), the output of the Multi is literally connected to the input, and the inverter feeds additional energy (up to 900W for your 1200VA rated unit, because grid-connected is limited to 80% of total capacity) into this combined connection. That is why the kettle worked.