The "Carlo Gavazzi ET112" explained

Good day citizens of the dark-side.

So in a few posts I’ve made on this forum many have advised I get an ET112, for measurement, for controlling/optimising ESS, for getting more out of my PV, etc.

I have tried to make a study of what this device will actually do and yet still find myself without a clear understanding. I’ve read spec sheets, hardly understood, comments on Powerforum give some clue, but a beginner’s guide, or intro, typically an “Explained” post/article I cannot find.

I won’t waste your time with my assumptions. Also, sorry, I may seem lazy to you, but I’m not really technically educated/informed and find reading incomprehensible manual after manual, Googling terminology many take for granted very frustrating for I just don’t have that much surplus time.

(in simple terms, feel free to use metaphor too, love metaphor)
Could someone please explain to me what this device does?
Why is it considered so useful in getting more out of my PV?
How does it enhance, or aid in optimising, with ESS?

Threads where it was recommended to me:

Thanks.
c.

This device is a simple energy meter. It tells the system what the power usage of the rest of the house is. Without it, your inverter only sees the load after it. If you can measure what is happening between the incoming grid and any other non-essential loads you have, you know what you can export to your house without actually exporting to the grid.

As an example: say you have 100W load on the output of your inverter. It can easily power that with your PV when the sun is shining. Now you switch on the kettle(say 1000W), but that is connected to the non-essential side, before your inverter. If you don’t have the ET112, the inverter is unaware of the kettle, but with it it knows it can push back 1000W to the grid side of the inverter.