TBB power inverters - Victron MPII alternative?

Heard of those inverters these days, especially the Appolo Matrix.

A friend of mine who told me about this, said that it looks like a Victron Multiplus II “clone” with integrated MPPT 150/60 and similar LF design with big transformer.
Actually it really looks similar on paper, even on photos and phy specs. The stated surge capabilities looks impressive if they are true of course.

The batteries they offer look like Pylontech clone and it is stated that the inverter supports only them. The inverter have can and rs485 comm ports.

If this can be set to communicate with some BMSs (like JBD, JK, etc) such a device can be promising.

I will be interested in hearing your comments or experience (if any) with those inverters,

1 Like

Im not really sure what your point is?

1 Like

The inverter reminds me more of a Voltronics than Victron. The control panel is that same calculator display with a few buttons underneath.

I’ve no experience with these inverters, or what your use case would be, but if you are in South Africa and want to do something to help with loadshedding, then think hard whether you want to replace Eskom with something similarly trustworthy/reliable.

Your link indicates they hail from a Nigerian reseller of a Chinese inverter.
That inspires a lot of confidence.
I may wire some of my funds directly to them as I recently had several heretofore unknown wealthy relatives leave me a massive inheritance in that country.

Sinetech sells the TBB energier range. I don’t know how good they are, but at least there’s a non-Nigerian reseller. Victron’s biggest plus is the modularity, and the support - I doubt this would be an alternative on either of those fronts… Other than that it’s an alternative in the same sense that a Mecer is an alternative.

3 Likes

I don’t think it is a clone. Well, there are some shared ideas (like the hook on the wall), but this is the Victron MP2:

And this is the TBB.

Selection_313