Talk to me about Unifi

Hi all

I want to eventually switch over all my network gear to Unifi, main reason being the tight integration and ease of use. I’m no networking expert and like the fact that you can pretty much make a Unifi setup as simple or as complicated as you like.

Main house plus flat plus big garage / workshop which I might convert in to another flat in future, so 3 buildings which I want to wire, plus wireless coverage in each of them eventually.

Distances between the 3 buildings is around 15 to 20m and I thought to run trunked fibre between the buildings.
For now Unifi PoE switches with SFP is just too expensive in my opinion, so I thought to start out with these Scoop switches, one for each building connected with fibre. Scoop 8 Port Gigabit Ethernet AI PoE Switch with 2 SFP Uplink | Scoop

Now getting to the Unifi part, I think I understand all the bits and pieces.
It looks like the UDM Pro will suit my needs. Even though I don’t see myself easily getting Unifi Protect cameras in future, the normal UDM seams to be a bit light weight, but I could be wrong of course.
Obviously the UDM Pro SE is nice, but at a price more than what a UDM Pro plus 8 port PoE switch will cost me.

In the main house I need some network ports in my study, so will probably put the UDM Pro there, then also wireless for which I’ll put a AP somewhere central to all the bedrooms.
On the other side of the house, a second and third AP should be able to cover the kitchen, living / TV room and outside braai area.
I think things will work out that the Scoop PoE switch will also end up being placed in the TV room, so then it is also sorted in terms of network ports for the TV, media server etc.

In the flat the 8 port PoE switch with one AP will be enough, same for the garage should I ever convert that in to a flat.

Laptops, tablets, phones, TV’s, media server, desktop PC or 2 and a few IOT devices which will probably grow in to quite a few more as time goes on.