SMA sunnyboy 3000tl modbus / comms

Have a friend who has 2 sunnyboy 3000tl-20. It’s pretty old, around 10 years, and doesn’t have any wifi / Ethernet ports.

Does anyone have experience getting some sort of comms from this to be able to read the inverter data. There is an adapter board that is sold for around R2500 but not sure what this is doing. Are there any SMA agents still in the country.

I see the newer Sunnyboys come with wifi though.

1 Like

I may be talking through my hat, but I have it in my head when I looked into it a few years back.
The SMA comms changed between the TL20 and the TL21.
The TL21 was equipped as standard with ethernet comms. This in turn allowed it to be recognized and visualized in Victron VRM.
Wherever I read this, I don’t know anymore.
I have been buying up secondhand PV inverters off eBay for several years now, and I made a mental note early on to only buy the TL21 version of the SMA inverters.
However, I have yet to install any of my SMA inverters, so I am no authority.
EDIT: As to Modbus comms I haven’t a clue.

Don’t all SMA devices communicate on their Speedwire protocol?
The Home Manager is the heart of their system and it uses this protocol as I understand it…

Friend actually has a multi plus in his system so he is trying to get the data from the sma into the victron vrm.

I’ve tried to do a bit of searching but info is very limited as to what the adapter board actually does.

A little light reading:
https://www.victronenergy.com/live/ccgx:ccgx_sma

And an email I dug up:

1 Like

Thanks for this.
The link doesn’t work.
Who can I contact with knowhow on SMA?

I think that’s because it is a screenshot of my email, maybe if you type it out?
If it still doesn’t work, well I don’t have my original enquiry because it was lodged at the SMA website. It automatically generated a case number email reply, and subsequently a human response.
Quite impressive really.