Shelly or Sonoff

I’m very new to all of this so apologies if I get some of the terminology wrong.

Pricing aside

Which do you prefer and why?

Do I understand correctly that Shelly devices will work on a local network in HA these days with the stock firmware, no need to flash with Tasmota, no need for the Shelly cloud?
I must say the price difference will be worth it for me if I don’t have to muck about with flashing firmware?

I’ve been browsing around and see Shelly stuff mostly come out tops if comparing with the equivalent Sonoff device, so is Sonoff popularity only down to the cheaper pricing or am I missing something?

1 Like

Sonoff do have a lot going for their price. It’s a strong motivator if you need to add many switches.

I think the Shelly mostly have higher ratings on the relays, so theycan handle more current. But you really need to compare the many different models and what each give you at the price. It’s hard to do a generic comparison.

Many of the new Sonoffs also do not need to be flashed. Just look for the DIY models.

Whilst on this subject how does the CBI Astute compare?
I presume there isn’t any standard shared by by these vendors so one has to commit to one vendor and stick with them… :confused:

I do have Sonoff, Shelly and Astute here in my setup. Just love the Shelly products, good quality, nice app, but most of all the HA integration is a pleasure. Astute is good quality and as with Shelly, the integration with Tuya and into HA is also very good.

I had some issues in getting Sonoff to work properly. Also the HA integration was a lot of work. Most of the Sonoff LED lights suck on the wifi side. I had a number of em in the hose, with lots of Philips HUE bulbs. Replace all of em with various brands that work via the Tuya integration and app. Where the Sonoff wifi failed, the Tuya type bulbs function 100%, never once dropping the wifi. In the same spots the Sonoffs wold drop off and go offline multiple times per day.