Rain water storage vs ground water in CoCT

Municipal water costs start off at R2 per kl and doubles after 7kl of usage.
So to reduce these costs one has the option of rain water storage and/or borehole/wellpoint supply.
What is the pros and cons of storage vs ground water assuming they are both available.

For starters , capital layout. Not sure how deep the water table is but it can be fairly expensive to drill a borehole vs rain water is just a Tank or if you are someone I know (@TheTerribleTriplet ) a kids swimming pool :slight_smile:

1 Like

I lean towards the borehole, once the water is tested and proof to be safe for human consumption, you will have a “Fresh” supply of water indefinitely. You might end up installing a filter to keep sand out of your system, but that is about it.

I guess the storage vessel(s) to store enough water to use even outside the rainy season will also cost an arm and a leg. then i am no expert in storing water, but i guess after standing for a long period, it will not be fit for consumption in any way and would need some kind of treatment.

A 5000l tank is roughly R4500-R5000 each, and I have seen up to 4 in some peoples setups. My drilling of a 50 m hole and equipping it cost me R24000 little over 2 years ago. I have spend over R1000 for water at that stage, I closed my municipal water supply completely. RIO was less than 24 months and i am running on clean profit for a few months already. Since the installation we were not effected by any water supply interruptions and not even once did we run out of water.

1 Like

Is it possible for a test to be done on the water without drilling or not drilling the final diameter hole?

Not really but if you can find someone else close on the same aquifer and hole depth then you should get a good idea from their quality… But not an exact science though!

The issue with more and more boreholes worldwide is a pesky little thing called subsidence.