Noob inverter question

Hi!

As per title, I am a noob in the space and researching my options. Will appreciate any and all advice :slight_smile:

So. Choice of inverter:

1. I like the modularity and (from what I have read) the quality of the Victron 5kva MP II.
  2. With the required Cerbo GX and a suitable MPPT, the MP II price is not THAT much more (I hope!) than a 8kw Deye/Sunsynk.
  3. BUT then I guess the Deye/SS gives you 8kw vs the Victron 4kw?
  4. So in real operation, would you see double the load that can be supported by the Deye/SS than the MK II? Jumping to a 8kva Victron pushes it a bit out of my budget…

Am I missing something? Maybe there is something ITO real world performance that makes the Victron 5kva compete on almost the same level as the 8kw Deye/SS? Or is this just wishful thinking? Lol!

Thanks for any insights, much appreciated!

It is a little like asking why a Haval (or insert a car brand here that doesn’t have a 50 year track record of reliability) SUV that can drive a family of 7 around as a Toyota RAV that can only drive 5 around but costs the same.

Real world performance is also measured across time. Victron’s products have proven themselves to be highly robust. Their warranties are amazing as well.

In some respects the Sunsynk is more “advanced” than the Victron. When it comes to grid-tied operation, it is more efficient. However, for off-grid operation (read Eskom is down), I don’t think many would suggest the Sunsynk ahead of the Victron. Maybe I’m wrong. The Victron MPII just has a more robust (and expensive) design and can take a lot more punishment. The software and integration capability of Victron is also much better and more user friendly.