Low tech load-shedding notification & control mechanism

Calling on the IoT wizards… Total noob here so I please need your distinguished opinions and input

I am looking for a relatively low tech and cost effective (read cheapish) solution to detect a power outage event (such as load-shedding) and then remotely switch off certain socket outlets and switch on maybe one or two smart bulbs to announce the fact that the grid power is down and then also the reverse when power is restored. This I would like to do specifically without having to implement Home Assistant or any other hubs for that matter. It should also be able to work in the local WiFi network and not only via the Internet.

Without knowing much, I was thinking along the lines of detecting the ATS signal from a Sunsynk inverter using a NodeMCU and then sending http control requests to Sonoff Mini R2 switches either in DIY mode or Tasmotized that controls the feed to the socket outlet of typical high power consumers. Would have preferred off the shelf smart sockets but these seem to be no longer easily flash-able with Tasmota OTA since most of them are Tuya based as far as I understand.

Not sure if the above method would work but any similar method of control would suffice. Does not need to be any brand specific.

I am sure this is relatively easily doable and I would really appreciate any direction in this regard.

It is possible to do Tuya local control now, and there is a python solution around that can talk to a Tuya device locally once you’ve extracted all the keys. Personally I still prefer Tasmota, the amount of time clicking through the Tuya IOT site alone (to get everything activated so I can obtain the keys) was bad enough that I will seriously try to avoid Tuya in future. But it really isn’t as bad as it used to be, it is no longer cloud-only. It might be an option for some people.

Correct me if I’m wrong but the standard approach is to split the DB into essential / non-essential loads?