Inverter for Server Room

Hi,

Im looking for info. Ill make it short. Why would i go for a Victron invertor and not for a Mecer invertor for a server room?
Our company is looking for a backup for the server room, and a couple of pc’s.(loadshedding) The company who is doing our IT, qoute us on a Mecer 5000va invertor. About 2kw of load.
Im suggesting a Victron multiplus 5000va + gx.(offsite monitor for batteries and invertor)
Batteries will be pylons.

The Multiplus II 3000 might be a better match and cheaper.

I’m not an expert in Axpert inverters, but if you want anything to integrate with the inverter then Victron has the upper hand by far. You can now get some data from the Axpert using the ICC software, but it is not as polished as the Victron stuff.
Also if you need a cost saving it might be much cheaper to get a Raspberry Pi3+ with a USB-MK3 cable than the full GX. Normally I suggest the GX, but if you do not add anything more (UPS mode) then the other ports that the GX supply will be wasted.

If you want to monitor things with some kind of monitoring platform (back in the day we used Nagios, I have no idea what is popular now), then the Victron world makes that a bit easier, since we have modbus-tcp support for just about anything you’d want to look at :slight_smile:

A question, perhaps out of ignorance, but aren’t servers typically 12VO motherboards/PSUs? Wouldn’t a battery backup make more sense? Is the inverter just there to charge the batteries from AC, or is it there for inverting battery DC to AC, just for the PSUs to make it 12V DC again?

1 Like

can you monitor one of the 2 invertors on the server? and switch it off when batteries are low?

Yes you can, Check out these ATX power supplies: 1200 Watt, 48V DC Input PC ATX Power Supplies, 48 volt input (36V to 72V), now at 1200 watts, Autonomous vehicle computer power supply .
This enables you to dispense with the inverter (my pet hate!) and it will be way more efficient,