Helping a complete newbie to get started

I think I’ll be able to scrape together an hour here and there to start tinkering with home automation. I already own two Raspberry Pi’s, a 3B and a 4. I’ve gotten to the point of installing Home Assistant on the 4 about two months ago, and haven’t done anything since. The 3 is running Pi-Hole, which used to be useful, now not so much (maybe I should update its lists).

Yesterday I took some time off and bought three Sonoff switches, two basics and one POW. Tested the POW last night using a janky setup with an old multiplug I had lying around and it seems to work great.
The idea is obviously not to be reliant on eWeLink’s servers. Therefore, now I need to get to the point of flashing Tasmota on these switches. @JacoDeJongh pointed me to a nice tool for the job, and I think I got the right one: https://www.robotics.org.za/W17939?search=usb%20ttl

When this arrives, my journey will start. So far I’ve decided upon the following order of operations:

1. Install a remotely manageable switch on my pool pump
  2. Figure out how to make Home Assistant work and integrate the two (Jaco mentioned I’ll need an MQTT broker, which is also a new term for me)
  3. Figure out how to integrate HA with my Venus GX using ModBus
  4. “Smartly” manage the pool pump using the information from the GX

All of the above steps will be executed on my desk before actually hooking anything up to the pool.

A few questions to the community from my side are then:

1. Please share any good tutorials on the whole Home Assistant, MQTT Broker, Sonoff with Tasmota with me, if you have available?
  2. Is this document from Victron, https://www.victronenergy.com/live/ccgx:modbustcp_faq, all I really need to know how to get it to work with HA, or do I need to read up some other stuff also?
  3. Any other useful things I can take on after getting the pool pump to stop being dumb?