Help me choose: Sunsynk vs Growatt

I’ve been threatening to install some solar at our place for the last year and am finally ready to pull the trigger. Now the big question that remains - what inverter? For context, my main aim is to bring down the monthly bill (loadshedding fortunately isn’t an issue) but since I don’t have a spinning meter I figure I need to go hybrid. We currently use about 25kWh / day, and I’m guessing this will increase as the kids grow older.

Inverter wise I’m torn between an 8kW Sunsynk or 2 x 5kW Growatt’s. 2 x 5kW Sunsynks are just a bridge too far ito costing. It’s important to me that the inverter be able to use all the available solar, add battery when more power is needed and only use grid when solar and battery combined are insufficient. I’ve decided on Pylontech batteries, so being able to limit discharge current from the inverter will be a big plus, as is reasonably seamless Home Assistant integration. I’m not an expert on either, so could be very wrong, but at the moment I have it as follows:

Sunsynk 8kW

• Pros:
    • Good local support (official and from community).
    • 50A AC passthrough
    • Multiple MPPTs
    • Blends solar and battery
    • Can set max battery discharge rate
    • 5 year warranty
  • Cons:
    • Fan noise
    • More expensive of the two options (about R10k more)
    • Home Assistant integration is cumbersome

2 x Growatt 8kW

• Pros:
    • Cheaper option
    • Home Assistant integration
  • Cons:
    • Low MPPT voltage
    • Noisy
    • 2 year warranty
  • Unsure:
    • What happens when rated current is exceeded / is there AC pass through?
    • Can it blend solar and battery?
    • Can battery discharge limit be set?

Your comments and inputs would be much appreciated

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!